International Studies & Programs

Faculty Directory

The Center for Gender in Global Context currently has more than 275 affiliated faculty members from throughout MSU's campus, across 18 colleges and more than 65 departments and offices.

The GenCen Faculty Directory can be sorted by Name, College, Department, and GenCen Affiliation. Affiliates can be Core, Consulting, GJEC, or GDG Faculty (some members may be both GJEC/GDG and Core or Consulting). Click here to jump to a short description of our Faculty Affiliations.

Back to Directory

Ellen McCallum

College: Arts and Letters
Department: English
Affiliation: Core
Program:
Email: emc(at)msu.edu

Ellen McCallum's teaching and research range across feminist and queer theory, psychoanalysis, deconstruction, aesthetics, American literature and film studies. Her most recent book is Queer Times, Queer Becomings, coedited with Mikko Tuhkanen (SUNY2011). Her first book, Object Lessons: How to Do Things with Fetishism, reclaimed perversion as a productive pradigm for feminist theory. Through a close reading in the passages in Freud's work where fetishism appears, McCallum shows how fetishism undermines the precarious binaries of masculinity/femininity or perverse /normal or heterosexual/homosexual and that fetishism's disruption even troubles the subject/object binary that founds Western metaphysics. Fetishism's ability to produce a multiplicity of sexual differences and to negotiate loss through a generative practice of substitution and interpretation holds valuable object lessons for postmodern feminist theory. Currently, McCallum is working on a series of essays on Gertrude Stein's The Making of Americans drawing on that landmark novel to explore a range of questions about aesthetics, temporality, emotion, and narrative. Her most recent publications investigate aesthetics at the boundary between the the verbal and the visual. One essay on Anne Carson's novel in verse, Autobiography of Red, argues for a reconsideration of classic photography theory in light of the tensions around the verbal photographs in that book suggesting that a counterpoint to the dominant equation of photography and death is the work of photography and love. Another essay on teaching Faulkner's As I Lay Dying examines how Vertov's use of montage in Man with a Movie Camera helps us teach what is at stake in the form of the novel's multiple narrators. She teaches a variety of courses, from the fundamentals of literary and critical theory for graduate or undergraduate students to women's experimental writing in the tradition of Dickinson and Stein to courses on film theory, feminist film, or visual culture. McCallums most recent graduate seminars have focused on psychoanalysis for reading and hermeneutic perspectives in critical theory.


What do our Faculty Affiliations Mean?

Core Faculty have a strong continuing professional focus on issues of women and gender in domestic, international, or global contexts, as demonstrated through research and teaching or other achievements. The Core Faculty supports the activities of GenCen and assists in developing and implementing its programs and activities, and are also eligible to serve on the GenCen Advisory Committee.

Consulting Faculty, while having a professional interest in issues of women and gender in domestic, international, or global contexts and activities of the GenCen, usually do not have these interests as the main focus of their research. 

GDG (Gender, Development and Globalization) Faculty will also be either Core or Consulting Faculty and have specific expertise and interest in gender and international development.

GJEC (Gender, Justice and Environmental Change) Faculty may also be either Core or Consulting Faculty, though that is not a requirement. GJEC Faculty are dedicated to teaching and scholarship related to intersections of gender, environmental change, and social and environmental justice; examining these issues from both local and global perspectives.

Click here to jump back to the Faculty search bar.

ISP Facebook ISP Facebook Group ISP Twitter

GenCen on Social